the first weekend of spring weather

It was sunny. It was warm. I weeded. I dug up dead looking maidengrass. I pruned back a sad looking lavender bush. I planted pansies in pots. I planted heather and a pretty blue ground cover and crocuses and peony starts in the front. I planted strawberries where the maidengrass had been in the back. (And don’t tell, but I also planted dahlia seeds in the front (variety: stargazer). I will only confess if they actually come up.) 

The rhubarb is coming up, and the chives are thriving again. I can see sorrel coming back, looking to be nicer than last year. The horseradish is starting to sprout. 

The weeding though…it has barely begun. There is a creeping vine like monster that I once thought was innocent, but is now my mortal enemy. I will not be vanquished!

Leave a Reply

